How are you like your father?

22 Jan

This was the question posed to us this morning in staff meeting. I chuckled as the thoughts started through my mind.

How am I like my father? How am I not like my father? Do you reallllly want to go there?

It’s no secret that my father and I have had our issues through the years. It started as the typical teenage girl-father relationship drama (and I don’t lie about the fact that I knew how to turn on the tears when needed….odd since I would go on to spend so many years fighting shedding tears at anything besides movies..) and morphed into more. And why did it morph into more?

Because I am so much like my father.

I look like my mother. This is undeniable. And whenever the comments are made (and they’re made quite often because apparently that’s an excellent conversation starter in the middle of a store..) my mom always laughs and responds with “yeah, but she acts like her dad.” And I do. This has caused issues in the past, oh heck it still causes issues, but at the same time it’s something I’m proud of at most times.

My father is one of the most outgoing, social, open-to-all-kinds-of-people people I have ever met and I’m proud to have gained some of his ability to become a social butterfly at the drop of a hat. (insert sound of shock here)

I love sports. This was something that my dad instilled in my long ago. Dad likes to tell the story of my first Purdue basketball game when I was about 5. It was Purdue-IU and the year was 1993 so you can imagine the scene. We walked out after the game and he asked how I liked it and my only response was, “it was so loud.” I still have this reaction on the nights that it’s been a long day and I would really be good with being there in Mackey and pushing the mute button (Note: Purdue-Ohio State games after having meetings from 9 am- 6:30 pm and having been sick for the last 5 days are NOT fun) We still have basketball season tickets to Purdue and I look forward to these times together. When we found out that Purdue was going to Texas to the Heart of Dallas Bowl on New Years Day, dad surprised me with tickets and we spent a 4 days touring Dallas and the Fort Worth Stockyards, eating, and enjoying the company of lots of other Purdue fans.

I’ve also gained his stubborn streak. This stubborn streak is normally what gets me in trouble BUT I have come to realize that sometimes this can be a good thing.  When being stubborn on standing up for something I believe in- good thing. When being stubborn and fighting for something that I think would be good for our community- good thing.  When being stubborn and fighting purely because the other person is being stubborn and fighting- ehh, not such a good thing.

My dad loves helping people. Growing up I was always told; God has blessed us so that we can bless others. I can’t count the ways that I have seen my dad help someone who was in need. Whether it was by being a friend and lending an ear or by providing a job to someone who was in need. My dad has always taught me that God has put us where we are and given us what we have so that we can show His love to those around us in whatever way we can.

So how am I like my father? Let me count the ways… (And don’t worry, there will most definitely be a “How are you like your mother?” follow up in the coming days)(

29489_1318040668748_6874337_n 189865_1002614623294_4095_n 199273_1002827308611_539_n 221739_1815829753164_3998846_n 224068_1816182601985_3165879_n 421587_2828680113790_1405465784_n

 

Love you daddy :)

2 Responses to “How are you like your father?”

  1. MYNDFUQ January 22, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    I’ve always felt some sort of resistance growing up because I wanted to be different than my father. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized I see a lot more of my father’s quality in me than ever. I think this is an amazing thing. Likewise, there are few things here and there that will get me on my nerves about him, but overall, I know I am the wonderful person today because of this wonderful man. Great post!

    ps. my brother was a boilermaker, so I can relate on your level, wish you guys the best of the season!

    Mikey

    • kelseyantrim January 22, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

      Thank you for your comment! I have found that same resistance slowly fading away the past couple years as I see the good in the traits that are apparent in me as well as him! And some of those are the same things that annoy me so greatly!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 759 other followers

